The English Wife

Two women, a world apart. A secret waiting to be discovered… VE Day 1945: As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess' happiness is overshadowed by grief.
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9780008314583
$19.99
Your price: $16.99
Ship to
*
*
Shipping Method
Name
Estimated Delivery
Price
No shipping options

Two women, a world apart. A secret waiting to be discovered… VE Day 1945: As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess' happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action. Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries. Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home… September 11th 2001: Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city's history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie's flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie. Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever… This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Lorna Cook and Gill Paul. What readers are saying about The English Wife: ‘An emotive and engaging read' Rosanna Ley ‘Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away' Jenny Ashcroft “An epic tale of family, tragedy & love… I highly recommend this book!!” Books, Wine, Cats 5∗ “The sense of suspense makes this story a page turner! Highly recommend this book, especially if you're looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuff” To Read is to Breathe, 5∗ “I couldn't put it down. It was not your typical historical novel & I think that's what I loved about it. Great book!” Dabbookclub, 4∗ “A book that drew me in from the first pages! The characters come alive, they're so well written. Fans of historic fiction will love this story. An author to follow” Consumer review, 

Products specifications
Attribute nameAttribute value
FormatPaperback / softback
Publication Date16 Sep 2020
Number Of Pages448
Customers who bought this item also bought

Best-loved Classics: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe

One of the Best Young-Adult Books by TIME: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe has enchanted readers for generations and now will delight younger children as a picture book. Brought to life thr...
$29.99 $25.49

The Write Thing Kwame Alexander Engages Students in Writing Workshop (and You Can Too!)

Imagine having a Newbery Medal-winning author in your classroom as a coach, an advisor and a friend, giving you personal and practical advice on how to teach writing workshop in today’s classroom. With The write thing, you can do just that!
$44.96

Fake Medicine

Exposing the wellness crazes, cons and quacks costing us our health
$32.99 $29.69